Interim Order not to take Action Against ‘No Again’ Campaigners

7 Nov: The Supreme Court has issued an interim order against the Election Commission not to take action against the ‘No Again’ campaigners.

The Commission had issued a statement on October 25 to remove posts from the social media containing photographs of important leaders and shutdown the campaign’s Facebook page. If they didn’t follow, they would face a five-year prison and Rs. 1,00,000 fine under Article 47 of the Electronic Transaction Act.

Senior Advocate Dinesh Tripathi had filed a case against the Commission on October 31. A single bench of justice Hari Prasad Phuyal on Sunday issued the order, hearing a case filed by Tripathi.

Prime Minister Sher Bahadur Deuba, CPN-UML Chairman KP Sharma Oli, CPN (Maoist Centre) Chair Puspa Kamal Dahal, CPN (Unified Socialist) Chief Madhav Kumar Nepal, Senior Leader and Former Prime Minister Jhalanath Khanal and Nepal Samajbadi Party Chief and Former Prime Minister Baburam Bhattarai were targeted particularly those who have become prime minister at least once.

Share post: